Meet Our Administration

Joe ThomasMr. Joe Thomas
Principal
Email

Mr. Joe Thomas joined the Saint Peter the Apostle School family in April 2014.  He has a Masters Degree in Administration and Supervision from Georgia Southern University and Certifications in Social Studies, Science and P.E
Retired from Savannah Chatham County Board of Education; after retirement, Mr. Thomas went back to the public school system as Interim Assistant Principal at Shuman Middle School and as School Board Hearing Officer.
Mr. Thomas is married to Betty G. Thomas and has a daughter Jennifer T. Woelber and a son Joseph A. Thomas, Jr.  Mr. Thomas enjoys weight training, fishing, and basketball.

15-560Joe Thomas said, “We can never teach our kids too much about values, and respect for one another and loving one another.”

 

 

 

Helena RussellMrs. Helena Russell
Curriculum Director/Art teacher
Email

Mrs. Helena Russell has a Bachelor of Science in Education/Art Education from Armstrong Atlantic State University. She has been teaching at SPA for 18 years and has been the Curriculum Director for 4 years Mrs. Russell sits on the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) Implementation Team and the Ace Collaborative Team for the Social Studies curriculum both for the Diocese of Savannah.
Married to Steve, Mrs. Russell has a 13 year old daughter Maddie and 7 year old son Noah.
Mrs. Russell loves the beach, reading, movies, music, photography and painting. And, for the record, she is a HUGE Elvis fan!
Read more about Mrs. Russell’s Art Classes here.

 

Mrs. Laura Anneken
Secretary
Email

Mrs. Anneken joined St. Peter the Apostle School as the Secretary in January of 2017.  She and her family moved to Savannah from Kentucky, September 2015, and became members of St. Peter the Apostle Parish August 2016.  Mrs. Anneken was a Delta Flight Attendant for 20 years, as well as a Corporate Concierge.  She has been married to Patrick for 25 years and they have 5 children; Maddy (22), Libby (20), Jack (18), Teddy (13) and Sam (11). In her free time, Mrs. Anneken enjoys traveling, crafting, yoga, and visiting the beach as much as possible!  She feels very blessed to be part of the St. Peter the Apostle Family.

 

8691-Brooke CameronMrs. Brooke Cameron
Athletic Director
Email

Mrs. Cameron was named Athletic Director for Saint Peter the Apostle Catholic School in 2013.  She earned a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Exercise and Sports Science from the University of South Carolina at Aiken . Brooke is currently working on her Master’s Degree.  For more information on SPAS Athletics click here.

 

Gary 150Mr. Gary Johnson
Asst. Athletic Director
Email

Mr. Johnson has been a member of Nativity/Saint Peter the Apostle Catholic School since 1980.  He has served as the Athletic Director or Asst. Athletic Director at SPAS for the past 14 years.

 

Mrs. Lucy Fonseca
Extended Day Program Director
Email

Mrs. Fonseca is the Director of the Extended Day Program.  For more information about the Extended Day Program click here.

 

 

Administration

Staff

Email

Principal Mr. Joseph Thomas jthomas@spasav.net
Pastor Fr. Michael Kavanaugh frkavanaugh@spacsav.net
Parochial Vicar/School Moderator Msgr. P. James Costigan msgrcostigan@spacsav.net
Curriculum Coordinator/Art Teacher Mrs. Helena Russell hrussell@spasav.net
School Secretary Mrs. Laura Anneken lanneken@spasav.net
Communication Coordinator/Spanish & Music Teacher Mrs. Ana Portman aportman@spasav.net
Guidance Counselor Dr. Ruth Moore rmoore@spasav.net
Guidance Counselor Mrs. Ellen Tate etate@spasav.net
School Accountant Ms. Julie Schambach jschambach@spacsav.net
IT Specialist Mr. Pepsi Amazan pelege@spasav.net